Experiencing God….Anywhere

holy ground

As I prepare for the upcoming lent season, I’m reflecting on how I can experience God anywhere at anytime.  

 

I recently had a conversation with a friend about church attendance and the presence of God.  I do firmly believe that it’s important to be in a body of Christ on a regular basis.  This is biblical to gather together and to observe the Sabbath.  But that’s only a part of it.  I can find and be in the presence of God anytime, anywhere.  

For me early wake up and quiet time is key.  But also my early morning run is very much a part of how I experience God.  I’ve always referred to my solo runs as my holy ground.  I don’t know why it seems that through exercise and outside activity it is easier to experience God or to think of Him and acknowledge His presence.  I wonder if it’s because it’s hard to deny His creation.  It’s hard to look around and not be in awe of the beauty around us.  Or when we’re moving our bodies and pushing our limits, we realize how wonderfully we have been made.  I don’t know why this seems to be.  But I do know that no matter where we are or what we’re doing, He can be found.  

 

It may be in the sunrise……

It may be in the solitude……

It may be on the trails……

It may be in the sound of the ocean waves……

It may be cradling your baby in the middle of the night……

It may be in the evening after everyone has gone to bed……

It may be through the laughter of your children playing in the other room……

 

God is everywhere.  Wherever you are, He is.  We just have to be aware.  

 

I’d like to know…

Where/when do you feel most in the presence of God?

5 thoughts on “Experiencing God….Anywhere

  1. You are right, God is everywhere. It makes sense to me that people will experience God’s presense when they are running because they are free from so many daily distractions that too often get in the way.

    Good post, God bless,

    James

    Like

  2. I always think this when I’m outdoors, especially when it’s a very beautiful day or I’m looking at very beautiful scenery. I’ve always had the personal philosophy that if there’s a way to find God, it’s through what He created in nature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

