Visions of Sugarplums: How to Enjoy Without Overindulging

visions of sugarplums

I know Easter and Halloween are candy-filled holidays, but I’d have to think that Christmas tops them both with candy and cookies and all kinds of yummy treats everywhere you turn.  If it’s not the goodies, it’s the hot chocolate and cider and “mommy and daddy” drinks!  lol!  We’re bombarded with all kinds of yumminess.   They LOOK yummy!  They SMELL yummy!  And we know they TASTE yummy!  

 

How can we navigate the sweets and treats and all the Christmas goodies without feeling deprived and yet stuffed and blah?  I have some ideas!  

 

Make/Take an alternative

  • Katie at Dashing Dish has some great recipes, many even gluten free, that are super healthy and taste just as yummy as the real thing.  
  • Hungry Girl (Lisa Lillien) can give you an alternative to any dessert that is simple and less sugary but still tastes just as indulgent.  
  • Sign up for my newsletter and get my recipe for these healthy cookie dough balls.cookie_dough

Drink sparkling water or hot tea

totaltea

 

There are so many flavored no calorie waters and teas.  

(I’ve written about how much I love Total Tea and Celestial Seasonings Candy Cane Lane.)  This keeps you hydrated and gives you some flavor.

 

 

Brush your teeth

After a meal and small treat, brush your teeth with some minty toothpaste.  This will leave   your mouth with a fresh and clean taste.  

Close the kitchen and savor lasting conversation

Once you’ve had your meal, clean up and close the kitchen.  Sit by the fire and be present with the ones you love.  

Eat mindfully  

If you’re going to have a treat, allow yourself to enjoy it.  Experience the taste and the smells of the dish.  If you’re standing and conversing and trying to eat all at the same time, you won’t enjoy your treat and will also tend to eat more than you may even realize.  

Taste Then Toss

It’s my number one go to tip on all things food.  Nothing is off limits….ever.  But you don’t have to indulge in an entire piece of cake, slice of pie, cookie, etc.  And at Christmas especially, there seems to be more than one option or thing you REALLY want.  So have a bite or two, then toss the rest.  (Or share it with someone.)  The point is, you don’t have to eat all of it.  And chances are, a bite or two gives you the satisfaction without feeling stuffed.  

What is your favorite Christmas treat?

10 thoughts on “Visions of Sugarplums: How to Enjoy Without Overindulging

    • I know what you mean! I have to tell myself “don’t eat standing up!” lol! I can be so bad about grazing as well and then I don’t even realize what I’ve eaten. Yikes!

      Like

  1. Love this! Great timely post. One of my favorite treats is a cup of one of the holiday flavor Celestial Seasonings teas with just a little sugar. It is delicious and satisfies my sweets craving in a fat free way.

    Like

  2. I honestly go through the dessert line and take everything I want, and then share the entire plate with my husband. That way we can both try everything but don’t have to finish the whole thing. I’ve discovered that when I tell myself that I don’t have to eat the whole thing if I don’t really like it that much, I give myself permission to only eat the things I really want to eat and not just eat something to be polite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

