Taste Then Toss

taste then toss

One thing you will never hear me tell you is that any food or food group is off limits.  (unless, of course, you have a medical reason)  My approach to health and fitness is that you have to like what you eat and how you move or you’ll never be successful.  But that also doesn’t mean to sit on the couch and eat bon bons.

This is what I will tell you:  “Taste Then Toss”.  What do I mean by this?  The basis is simple:  nothing is off limits.  If you want something so badly, you can have it.  BUT, be mindful when you have it. REALLY enjoy the treat, the indulgence, the delicacy.  Sit down.  Have a bite or two then toss it out.  Have enough to taste and enjoy it, but not so much that you’re stuffed and left saying “I really shouldn’t have had that.”  There will be more another time.

Now you may say “But Marsha, there are starving people in the world.  I can’t throw away food.”  There ARE starving people, and I would tell you,  “Go make  a donation to a food pantry.”  “Sponsor a child.”  But cleaning your plate is not going to help a starving person.

The holidays are fast-approaching.  There will be lots of treats and dishes that you may not have around often.  Choose wisely what you will have.  And even then, take a couple of bites, then toss it out.  You don’t need to keep it and eat more the next day and then the next.  Enjoy it one time then toss it and move on.

You really can have your cake….or pie…..just don’t eat all of it!

 

If you need help figuring out how to apply this principle or finding a way of eating and exercising that works for you…..contact me!  I have openings for my 3 week Fit & Free Lifestyle Program.   

6 thoughts on “Taste Then Toss

  1. I think it is VERY important to understand that food is the ultimate art — and I’m not saying this out of obsession or addiction. Food is visually stunning, invigorates the smelling and taste senses, can bring a tickle of charm to your ear, and can bring beautiful textures to the skin.

    It’s meant to be enjoyed, if only for a moment.:) I love this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

